Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Outstanding CSR of the Year Award


The OCSRY competition started in 1991 to honor customer service representatives and account managers who have made significant contributions to the insurance and risk management industry. The competition is sponsored by the Society of Certified Insurance Service Representatives (CISR) and the Society of Certified Insurance Counselors (CIC) -- proud member organizations of The National Alliance for Insurance Education and Research.

What's the deadline?

The competition deadline is May 1, 2022. Nominees must submit a completed entry form along with an essay and letter(s) of recommendation to their licensed state association (Big I Arkansas).

Who can nominate?

Anyone can make a nomination. You can even nominate yourself! Simply fill out and submit the Nomination Form. Once you have nominated someone, encourage them to write their essay and submit their entry.

Who can enter?

Anyone, regardless of affiliation or professional designation, whose primary duties center on insurance customer service, is eligible to enter. A CIC or CISR designation is not required. However, we recommend that candidates have a minimum of two years of industry experience and enough experience to share through their essays.

Eligible Candidates must:

  • Be insurance customer service representatives, account managers, or have primary responsibility for customer service duties
  • Submit a completed Entry Form that includes references, education/contribution/achievement information
  • Submit letters of recommendation from business/professional references.
  • Write a 500 to 1000-word essay on the following topic:

“Transferrable Skills are learned from experience which includes prior careers, education, volunteer work, or personal encounters. What are the top three skills you transferred from outside the insurance industry to your current job role? Discuss how you leverage your skills, continue to develop and evolve them, and how you transfer your expertise to others to ensure perpetually exceptional customer service."

Award Information

Nominees compete at state level to become one of five finalists. Individuals who nominate the national winner receive a $1,000 cash award.
*New 2022 National Qualifier Stage: State Winners will be required to submit a short video entry for the National Competition. Video guidelines will be sent to State Winners when selected.*

State Winners
  • National Recognition
  • Advancement to National Competition
  • Framed Certificate
  • $500 Cash Award
  • National Recognition
  • Gold and Garnet Pin
National Award Winner
  • $2,000 Cash Award
  • National Recognition
  • Gold and Diamond Pin

Submission Forms

Please send nominations to Big I Arkansas by mailing your form to 5000 Northshore Drive, North Little Rock, AR 72118, or by emailing your form to Participants  will receive their entry form and further details upon their nomination.

ocsry award

The National Alliance presents the Oustanding CSR of the Year Award each year on a state and national level. Click the link below to visit their website and view the list of 2022 winners, and check back soon for information on the 2023 nominations. 

Alyssa Circle Headshot.jpg


Director of Professional
Email Alyssa